• Spurs General Manager R.C. Buford earned his second career Executive of the Year honors, per Marc Spears.

    The Spurs have continued to serve as the NBA’s model franchise, finishing 67-15 and a sterling 40-1 at home. Buford previously won Executive of the Year for the 2013-2014 season.

    Buford and the Spurs made a big splash this offseason, signing LaMarcus Aldridge and luring David West San Antonio on a cheap deal during free agency. They also signed Kawhi Leonard to a well-deserved extension to cement the new core while bracing for the eventual retirements of Tim Duncan, Tony Parker and Manu Ginobili.

    There were several strong candidates for the award this year, namely the architects of a surprise showing in Portland and a historic season in Golden State but ultimately San Antonio’s consistency and continued dominance gave Buford the nod among voters.

    In a down-ballot note, former 76ers GM Sam Hinkie earned one 2nd place vote and 2 3rd places votes.

    The the top five are as follows:

    1. R.C. Buford, San Antonio Spurs
    2. Neil Olshey, Portland Trailblazers
    3. Bob Myers, Golden State Warriors
    4. Masai Ujiri, Toronto Raptors
    5. Rich Cho, Charlotte Hornets
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x